2019-2020 NCSA Annual Scholarship Awards

The North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association announces the awarding of Spring Criminal Justice Scholarships to the following students across North Carolina. Scholarships valued at $1,000 per semester, $2,000 per year, are awarded for the Spring and Fall semester during the 2019-2020 year:

Name College
Amari Askew Elizabeth City State University
Janetta Kenon NC A&T State University
Jessica Willis NC State University
Brantise Johnson UNC –¬†Charlotte
Ashley Cornett UNC – Wilmington
Joshua Adcock Western Carolina University
Morrow Tritt Western Carolina University
De’Naija Wilsher Winston-Salem State University

The Sheriffs of North Carolina feel that the scholarship program sponsored by their Association will assist many prospective personnel for Sheriff’s Offices as well as other law enforcement agencies across the State.

The Sheriffs of North Carolina are extremely pleased to be able to make these awards available to students. The monies for these scholarships are made possible through membership dues paid by the Honorary Citizen and Business Members of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association.

Eligibility: Twelve scholarships are offered each year to full-time North Carolina resident undergraduate students majoring in criminal justice, one for each UNC constituent institution that has a criminal justice program.

First priority in selection is given to the child or step-child of a North Carolina Sheriff or Deputy Sheriff. Second priority is given to a child or step-child of a North Carolina law enforcement officer killed in the line of duty. Third priority is given to a child or step-child of a North Carolina Sheriff or Deputy Sheriff who is deceased or retired (regular or disability). Fourth priority is given to an academically eligible North Carolina criminal justice student with demonstrated financial need.

The state institutions eligible to participate in the criminal justice program are: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina State University, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Western Carolina University and Winston-Salem State University.

Value: These scholarships are valued at $1,000 per semester for the Spring/Fall semester.

Application Procedure: Recipients of the scholarship are chosen by the financial aid office at the constituent institution of the University of North Carolina that the student plans to attend or is currently attending. The student must obtain a letter of recommendation from the Sheriff of the county in North Carolina where he or she resides. Applications are available from the school’s financial aid office, and after completion, should be returned to the school’s financial aid office.

To assist NCSA in providing scholarships like those listed above, consider becoming an Honorary Member of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email